What goes around comes around

8 Feb

I entered the Stellenbosch University parking lot today on my little Honda motorcycle and surveyed my parking options. In front of me was a bicycle rack the width of the whole lot. In the right corner was a three-quarters-empty disabled space, and in the left corner was an empty regular space with a small alcove at its end.

Being a considerate fellow, I reasoned that the disabled space was out of bounds (just in case someone three-quarters disabled happened to need to park), and parking  in front of the bicycle rack would leave most of my bike protruding out into the parking lot, making it very difficult for those in the end spaces to reverse out. Yet I also didn’t want to take a full space for a motorbike. So instead of using the full space, I parked in the alcove, so that anyone who might need to use the space behind me could comfortably park most of the vehicle in the space while still leaving me plenty of room to squeeze past when I needed to leave.

Instead, when I arrived back at my bike, I saw this:

bike parkin

 

That’s right; not only had he parked unnecessarily deep, but he had also dragged my bike tighter into the space so that I would be unable to leave. Apparently it was his space, someone explained.

I never got to meet this gem of a human being, because after Herculean exertion of my formidable upper-body strength, I was able to drag my bike over the parapet wall and to freedom. Next time I’ll try be more considerate.

Leave a Reply

