Impy’s Wonderland makes me Wonder

30 Jun

Ugh.Impy’s Wonderland is a kids’ movie, seemingly aimed at the 5-10 year-olds. It’s not very good, although to be fair I wasn’t really paying attention.

The movie did get me to focus for a short while, however, because utter disbelief is a good attention grabber. The dull dinosaurish creature, Impy, wants to be a star and so accompanies the bad guy to his theme park to be a performer. At his show, he begins to sing — but what song do the writers script compilers have him do? Apropos of nothing, he breaks into Sex Bomb by Tom Jones. For 5-year-olds.

That’s not even the worst part. As a ‘visual gag’, two phallic cannons each blow a load of glitter out onto the stage as the lyrics begin.

Sex bomb, sex bomb, you’re a sex bomb uh, huh
You can give it to me when I need to come along, give it to me
Sex bomb, sex bomb, you’re my sex bomb
And baby, you can turn me on, baby, you can turn me on
You know what you’re doing to me, don’t you?
Ha ha, I know you do

I’m not sure how much of the song they did as I made a dive for the skip button — both because it’s a deeply, deeply inappropriate scene for kids, and a really annoying song for adults — but that definitely earns Impy’s Wonderland a demotion from mediocrity-purgatory into the stupidity inferno.

9 Responses to “Impy’s Wonderland makes me Wonder”

  1. Todd September 11, 2011 at 5:12 pm #

    Thanks for writing this article. We just watched it on Netflix with our 3 year old and 8 year old (which this movie is even too silly for him – he just happened to be in the room for this part of course), when Impy busts into this performance. We sat there listening to it trying to figure out what they were REALLY saying because SURELY no IDIOT would put this in a kids movie. I still had to look it up to make sure i heard what i heard.

    Are the makers of this movie TRYING to lose money? WHO IN THEIR RIGHT MIND would put “Sex Bomb” in a child’s movie?!?!?!?

    I am notifying Netflix of this, in hopes they will remove it. I hope anyone else that knows of this will do the same.

    • Mandi Andreano September 17, 2011 at 7:12 pm #

      sounds good, todd. my mouth was gaped wide open as i sat here and was watching it with my son. all i could say was “did they just really say that?!” im befuddled. ill be in touch with netflix also.

    • Angela September 20, 2011 at 8:46 pm #

      The movie is not rated. it would be silly to complain to netflix about the content on a not rated film. I’m not loving that its in there but it isnt my concern, since.watching netflix movies are.a choice you can just choose to not watch.it again!

      • Angi Elston September 25, 2011 at 6:19 pm #

        Right, but as a parent who needs to get some laundry done and puts on a kids movie to keep the little ones amused, I don’t expect to walk into the room hearing a song “Sex Bomb” on a movie in the “Kids and Family” section. A lot of kids movies are “not rated” and I have always taken it to mean, why bother rating a kids movie that is innocent. Boy was I wrong!

      • Jordan Pickering September 25, 2011 at 7:56 pm #

        Ja, if freedom of expression is meant to be self-regulating, then it is the right of movie makers to insert off-colour jokes in a wasted attempt to appeal to adult viewers, but it is the responsibility of consumers to complain when a line is crossed.

      • Andrea October 16, 2011 at 2:24 am #

        The messages my kids get from movies and television are certainly MY concern. That’s called raising them. Angela, it has nothing to do with watching it a second time. It has everything to do with my kids seeing it THE FIRST TIME! HELLO? They will take it down. I’m pretty sure that Netflix will agree with their customer base on this one. They don’t want to become notorious for miscategorizing their catalog. It’s not good business. It probably slipped through somehow. The movie’s marketing IS VERY disarming. Ratings are on films so that people can indeed “make a choice” to watch a movie or not-THE FIRST TIME. It shouldn’t be a risk one has to take. Not when you turn on a kids movie. You don’t expect to be thrown a curve ball on propriety when you turn on a kids show. I ABSOLUTELY SHIT MY PANTS WHEN I JUST HEARD THIS five minutes ago! Never heard of anything like it. Fat Albert didn’t have sex bomb. He had Herbie Hancock. >:<

  2. hahabuda September 21, 2011 at 1:52 am #

    just saw this movie and was shocked by it! I just blogged about it too, and am surprised that not that many people know about this.

  3. Cube July 10, 2015 at 10:19 pm #

    Wow that sex bomb song by the dinosaur is the best thing I ever seen. I have to get this on bluray its amazing.

    • Jordan Pickering July 10, 2015 at 10:33 pm #

      You are either a master of irony or frequently abusing marijuana. Either way, don’t let it make you do things you’re going to regret. Like buying this on bluray.

Leave a Reply

