Microsoft .Nuts

4 Apr

I’m not a computery type. I don’t know what Microsoft’s ‘.net framework’ does and I don’t spend much time worrying about it, but I have had a couple of run-ins with it over this weekend.

Firstly, I bought an external drive that required .net framework 3.5 SP1 for its backing up software to work, but after helpfully including it on the drive, the installer failed to work. So I downloaded the ‘Setup’ file from the net, which is one of those encouraging but useless files that finishes downloading quickly, but instead of installing anything, clicking it merely starts the download of the real file. Or, at least it should. The second-phase download wouldn’t work.

So, trying again, I went for the sensible ‘standalone’ file, which now comes in 4.0 flavour, but promises to build upon earlier versions. After installing that, I tried the hard-drive again, but it still insisted upon version 3.5. Fortunately, having 4.0 at least talked some sense into the bundled version of 3.5, and it installed itself after that.

My second run-in happened when I tried installing GMinder — some Google-calendar-managing app. It requires .net framework 2.0. Even though I installed 4.0, it was 2.0 or nothing.

Microsoft says 4.0 is backwards compatible, but that it gets tripped up by little conflicts here and there. How is that different to not backwards compatible? You’d think that a company that’s been making software since we were rocking our Ataris and ZX Spectrums would have nailed that by now.

Leave a Reply

