What I Like About You? Nearly zero actually.

17 May
What I Like About You

On the left: nails. On the right: chalkboard.

OK, I’m not a huge fan of television in general. I take advertising very personally. Are you saying that I smell bad, Axe? My dull, lifeless hair means what about my desirability, Pantene?? The Suite Life of Zack and Cody makes me question my commitment to a pro-life ideology. I find myself analysing the claims of My Friends Tigger and Pooh (those mysteries are not mysterious at all, and the guiding motto that ‘When you have a problem think, think, think’ is hardly ever genuinely put into practice by the characters. I feel short-changed on behalf of my kids). I find soap-operas and wrestling and The Steve Wilkos Show utterly baffling.

Well, I accidentally turned on the TV while What I Like About You was on, and I witnessed a scene in which Big Sister tried to act liberated by discussing something awkward with Little Sister, but in a clueless and patronising way. You know the episode I mean. Go on, of course you do! That’s because it’s every episode. That’s all I’ve ever seen them do, except for squeaking, fighting and then making up, which is the balance of every episode. So, with that in mind:

Leave a Reply

